

Two legendary progressive / heavy-metal bands, Deep Purple and Yes, will hit Jones Beach on Sun, Sept. 1 on the former's "= 1 More Time Tour." - tix: http://YES.jonesbeach.com

Deep Purple is in the midst of their 1 More Time tour and simultaneously celebrating 50 years of "Smoke on the Water" (52 years now, to be exact). The band recently released a super deluxe edition of its landmark album Machine Head, which includes classics such as "Smoke on the Water," "Highway Star" and "Space Truckin'."

Yes, meanwhile, will deliver a career-spanning set comprising material through their latest album, 2023's Mirror to the Sky. The prog legends are also releasing an expanded anniversary box set of their 1994 album Talk next month.

In 1972, Deep Purple released the iconic "Smoke On The Water."

Now, 52 years later, the Rock and Roll Hall of Famers will celebrate their mega-hit on their '1 More Time Tour' with fellow Rock Hall inductees Yes all summer long.. Along the way, Ian Gillan and co. are scheduled to make five New York and New Jersey stops.. For fans that can't wait to rock out to "Hush," "Highway Star," "Space Truckin" — and of course "Smoke On The Water" — tickets for all North American concerts can be picked up as soon as today.

Deep Purple set list - The band closed the North American leg of their 2023 tour in Orlando on Feb. 21.

According to Set List FM, here's what Deep Purple performed — including guitar, keyboard and bass solos — that evening:

- 01.) "Highway Star"
- 02.) "Pictures of Home"
- 03.) "No Need to Shout"
- 04.) "Nothing at All"
- 05.) "Guitar Solo"
- 06.) "Uncommon Man"
- 07.) "Lazy"
- 08.) "When a Blind Man Cries"
- 09.) "Anya"
- 10.) "Keyboard Solo"
- 11.) "Perfect Strangers"
- 12.) "Space Truckin"
- 13.) "Smoke on the Water"

Encore

- 14.) "Hush" (Joe South cover)
- 15.) "Bass Solo"
- 16.) "Black Night"

Being together for 56 years doesn't mean Deep Purple doesn't have more to give to the world. In 2022, the band reached deep into their archives and dug out "Extras: The Infinite B Sides and Bonus Songs," which is a must for any Purple superfan.. However, what we found most interesting was the band's latest record of original music, 2021's bluesy, New Orleans-y "Turning To Crime."

Featuring epic rock ("7 and 7 Is") as well as lively party startin' tunes ("Rockin' Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Flu") and covers from B.B. King ("Let the Good Times Roll") and Cream ("White Room"), the album is certainly a departure from the hard rockers' heavy fare they're

famous for...

Still, for our money, the best track on the record is the Southern-fried rock and roll number "Oh Well."

We've been listening to it on repeat all day... You can hear the jubilant "Turning To Crime" album in our minds.. After over 50 years together — they formed in 1968 — the core of Deep Purple remains the same.. Should you attend a show, here's who you'll likely see take the stage:

Ian Gillan lead vocals, harmonica, percussion (1969–1973, 1984–1989, 1992–present)
Roger Glover bass, keyboards, occasional backing vocals (1969–1973, 1984–present)
Ian Paice drums (1968–1976, 1984–present)
Don Airey keyboards (2002–present)
Simon McBride guitars, backing vocals (2022–present)

This tour is a twofer... Joining Deep Purple on the road are fellow Rock and Roll Hall of Famers Yes.

The long-running prog band is known for their hits like "Owner of A Lonely Heart," "Roundabout," "I've Seen All Good People" and many, many more. It's hard to believe the '60s were over 50 years ago now. Still, many acts that defined the sound of the groundbreaking musical era are still kicking it and on the road this year.

Hard rock / proto-metal legends Deep Purple began their long goodbye in 2019, and now they've announced the '1 More Time Tour,' a US amphitheater tour celebrating over 50 years of "Smoke on the Water" with support from Steve Howe's current incarnation of prog rock legends Yes... Deep Purple's current lineup is lan Gillan, Roger Glover, lan Paice, and Don Airey. Yes' current lineup is Steve Howe, Geoff Downes, Billy Sherwood, Jon Davison, and Jay Schellen.

Each band is a Rock & Roll Hall of Famer founded in England in 1968, each with multiplatinum releases and a set list of classic songs. Deep Purple's hits include "Smoke on the Water," "Hush" and "Woman from Tokyo," while prog-rock progenitor Yes issued singles include "Roundabout," "I've Seen All Good People" and "Owner of a Lonely Heart."

As not unusual for bands spanning multiple decades, their lineups have been fluid. Deep Purple currently consists of drummer Ian Paice from the inaugural 1968 formation; singer Ian Gillan and bassist Roger Glover from the band's 1970s heyday; drummer Don Airey, who succeeded founding member Jon Lord in 2002; and Simon McBride, who came on in 2022.

Grammy Award-winner Yes features guitarist Steve Howe from the band's classic early 1970s iteration, plus longtime keyboardist Geoff Downes, previously of the Buggles ("Video Killed the Radio Star") and the supergroup Asia; bassist Billy Sherwood, who came aboard in the 1990s, left in 2000 and returned; singer Jon Davison, who joined in the early 2010s; and percussionist Jay Schellen, their tour drummer who became a formal bandmember last year.

Each band has continued releasing new studio albums into the current decade, with Deep

Purple's 2021 "Turning to Crime" and Yes' 2023 "Mirror to the Sky."